Things You Don’t Know About Me


One of my readers asked if I’d share an “about me” post a few months ago. Better late than never, right? Whether you’ve been a reader for a month, week, or year, chances are there are at least a few things you don’t know about me. 

Name: Danielle Moss
Age: 34
City: From Los Angeles and moved to Chicago in 2010
School: Graduated from UCSB with a degree in Sociology
Current job: Cofounder of The Everygirl, freelance designer, photographer

Early years
I’m my mom and dad’s only child but am the oldest of 5 half-siblings–two I grew up with (from my mom) and three I don’t know very well at all (from my dad). Speaking of my dad, I haven’t spoken to my dad in about 15+ years.

I come from a very small family and don’t have any cousins, aunts, or uncles, so it’s just my mom, 2 half-sisters, and great aunt. Conor has balanced things out with his 30something 1st cousins.

I played the drums, went to drama camp, was a figure skater, loved legos, and was on a boys’ roller hockey team for about 5 minutes to prove girls can play with the boys. Turns out that when they’re really tiny and underdeveloped they really shouldn’t do that.

I was also on an episode of Wild & Crazy Kids on Nickelodeon that left me smelling like pancakes for a week.

I’ve been to Yosemite ~11 times. That has to be some kind of record for someone who isn’t a rock climber.

Growing up, I was very blond and curly. My current hair color is natural but the texture isn’t–it’s still curly and frizzy so I have it straightened every few months.


Career, blogging, and photography
I shoot with a Mark iii and Fuji XT1, although most of my instagram photos are shot with my iPhone. I almost always shoot in natural light and VSCO for editing (A6 is my favorite filter). And I always brighten and sharpen my photos .

My first blog, The Daily Ice Blended, launched back in 2007 and was named after my favorite drink at Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf. I renamed my blog Well That’s Just Fabulous–the last 4 words spoken by Carrie Bradshaw on SATC. Then came Breakfast at Toast after realizing I can’t stand the word fabulous, and now, it’s just my name. I sometimes wish I just stuck with Breakfast at Toast.

My Everygirl cofounder and I met through blogging and officially met in person at my Christmas party back in December ’10, just 4 months after I moved to Chicago. I had a total of 13 people and had to take my desk over to my neighbor’s place to fit everyone in there.

I’ve had some really random jobs.


Life lately
I wasn’t always type A and was actually a terrible student–I only did well in classes that came easy to me (English and anything creative). I had zero direction after graduating high school and spent a few years at Santa Monica Community College before transferring to Cal State Northridge and finally, to the University of California Santa Barbara.

I thought I was ESTP although up until a few weeks ago, thought actually thought I was ESFP. PS I’m in the same category as Jack Nicholson.

About 9 months before moving to Chicago, I took a trip to TX, TN, IL, and IN with the hopes that I’d find a new city to live in after not flying for over 10 years. I was sold on Nashville before spending a few days in Chicago and changed directions. I knew no one and was self-employed, but the midwest seemed like a great place to live. 6 years later, I’m still here and loving it.

If you’ve seen my home on instagram, you might have noticed that I like things clean and organized. Every night, I do all the dishes, clean the countertops, and put everything away. And I make my bed every single day.

I went into my 30s having dated one guy. My first boyfriend and I started dating a few months before my 20th birthday and  officially ended things 1.5 years after my move to Chicago, just a few months before my 30th birthday. Talked about why I should have ended things years earlier in this post. Conor and I have been together for almost a year-and-a-half and are moving in together in a few weeks.

danielle moss florence-1
In Florence with Conor

I love all animals but am not the biggest fan of chihuahuas. That said, I love my chihuahua mix who just sort of “happened” to me while I was out running errands and walked past an animal adoption drive. His leg was broken and he looked at me.

And some random fun facts
I drink an excessive amount of coconut, lime, and apricot lacroix and prefer red wine to white. I stopped eating fish when I was 9 because I had a pet fish and it felt wrong, and didn’t try seafood again until my 20s. (ps. I now love scallops and mussels but still don’t like salmon). I’ll always choose thin crust pizza over pasta and gummy candy (and red vines) over chocolate. I strongly dislike hot fudge, mushrooms, olives, and blue cheese.

Have you seen Star Wars or any of the Godfather movies? Because I haven’t. And I can’t watch scary movies or Game of Thrones without covering my eyes.

Next plane ticket: Going to Denmark in November but Portugal and Spain are high on my list
Listening to: Today, lots of Milo Green. Also on repeat: Of Monsters and Men, Bon Iver, Head and the Heart, James Vincent McMorrow, and Conor’s moody French playlist from our birthday party.
Watching: Modern Family and sort of watching GoT (while covering my eyes)

Is there anything else you want to know about me? Ask away in the comments below! I’d love to learn more about you guys, too.

Who you are, where you live, what you do, and how long you’ve been a reader. So if you’re feeling friendly, tell me about yourself in the comments below (and share your instagram handle, too)! No pressure, obviously. But come on.